Online Band Jam

So last year, I had this obsession with bands. Not just listening to them, but I wanted to be in one too.

Who needs a social life when you can have bands?

I did some digging and found this cool, trustworthy website where you could meet people online and start your own band. So I thought, why not? So I signed up and did my whole profile page and everything.

Then, after some time introducing myself and contacting existing bands I got a reply back. They wanted me as their lead singer (I don’t even remember what the band was called). So after a few emails I told the guy I had an original song they could use. I sent him the recording so he and the guys could sort out how to match all the instruments with it.

The result was…not so good. The drums weren’t really in time and the electric guitar covered most of the voices. I kind of cringed when I heard it. Not to be insulting but it was true. Afterwards, I gave them some feedback and they said that we could try again. So I wrote them another song, one that was more upbeat. The result still wasn’t impressive. The band just drifted apart after that and I haven’t gotten in contact with them since.

But then, a few months ago I stumbled across this guy’s Soundcloud account and realized he was an old bandmate. I looked through his profile and I found the song we did together but instead, it was just him. I felt used and somehow insulted at that point because he didn’t mention anything and took all the credit for himself and listed the song as ‘his’. That song didn’t happen to be one of my proudest ones so I decided not to make a deal out of it and let it go. But truth is, it still sucks because I spent time and effort on it.

The song, called ‘Winter Wonderland’, (no, it’s not a Christmas song) was originally dedicated to a friend who passed away a year ago. So it meant something to me. However, that’s all in the past now and I have no idea what even inspired me to write all of this. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve still got interest in this ‘band stuff’. I actually spend too much time on the internet, (this I know as a fact) so I come across knowing a lot of people online. The thing is with the online world is that you never know when people come and go, they could be here today and gone tomorrow; they could be who they say they are or someone else completely. But at the end of the day, they might just think they same about you too.

(Hey, I just realized I used an Eminem lyric in that last paragraph.)

Sincerely,

The Anon

Leave a Reply

